Kayak Design 101

As a backyard builder I have enjoyed making three boats, but have relied more on my eye (art school background) then any knowledge on nautical design to create the kayaks I have designed/built so I thought it would be fun to see how the P-net crowd would design the mythical (near) perfect boat. To do this I have done my best to dissect the boat into its’ 3D parts for others to reassemble as they see fit.

1. Hull shape

a. symmetrical

b. swede form

c. fish form

2. Hull cross section profile

a. hard chine

b. multi chine

c. soft chine rounded bottom

d. soft chine v-bottom

e soft chine flat bottom

3. Bow entry (looking head on)

a. flared

b. straight sided

c. rounded

d. narrow below waterline and full above

4. Stern exit (looking rear on)

a. flared

b. straight sided

c. rounded

5. Bow profile (side view)

a. plumb bow

b. sloped up (Greenland style)

c. long steady slope up (Baidarka style)

6. Stern profile (side view)

a. plumb

b. sloped (Greenland style)

c. vertical and quickly tapered to a low volume (Baidarka style)

7. Bow rocker

a. none to very little

b. first fifth of the boat

c. first fourth of the boat

d. first third of the boat

8. Stern rocker

a. none to very little

b. last fifth of the boat

c. last fourth of the boat

d. last third of the boat

9. Width

a. 21" or less

b. 22"

c. 23" or more

10. Length

a. 16.5’ or less

b. 17’

c. 17.5’

d. 18’ or more

Directions: For each of the numbers (1-10) assign it a letter or just redesign the parameters and directions (which is fine by me)and Computer assistance is allowed.

Wow, interesting post.
Can you define bow entry and stern exit a little more? I’m not familiar with those terms. I’m sure it’s easier to draw on paper than describe in words.

Bow entry/stern exit
This would be the shape that the water would see as a bow approaches it and the shape of the stern as it exits the back of the boat (if it could turn around and look back at it)

There Is No “Perfect”