Impressions Regarding My First Paddle

-- Last Updated: May-31-13 10:12 AM EST --

I just purchased last week, my first kayak ever, a Conduit 13.

This morning I took it out for its maiden voyage on a deep, flat water creek. Since I have no paddling experience and have no frame of reference I can't give you any similarities and differences to any other kayak, but here are my thoughts thus far.

First, the kayak seems very stable to me, a beginner, and glides along fairly well with a steady paddling stroke. I can tell that I need to improve my stroke consistency from side to side as I am regularly having to correct my direction to travel in a straight line.

My paddle is two-piece and can be snapped together with the blades parallel to each other or slightly offset. I experimented with both settings but truthfully at this stage can not tell much difference. I assume there are instances or paddling styles where one setting is better but I am no where near that level yet.

Overall, I really like the boat and think it will be a good boat for me to enjoy, get some exercise, and learn about some of the different aspects of kayaking.

I could have spent less and of course could have spent considerably more but based on my first experience this seems to have been a good choice for my first kayak.

Welcome and congrats!
Sounds like a promising first outing in a great beginner boat.

You’ll probably find that orienting the paddle blades in the same plane (lined up straight) works best for most flatwater paddling in mild conditions. The main reason you feather a paddle (offset the blades) is to keep wind from catching the “up” blade when paddling in windy conditions. At an angle it will slice through gusts more easily. People paddling whitewater, where you need to change direction quickly, use paddles with even bigger offsets. But for touring, straight alignment or no more than 15 degrees offset are common placements.