Comfort zone vs. danger? long-ish

-- Last Updated: Jun-09-13 10:11 AM EST --

Friends who grew up on the water advise that you never go out in conditions in which you feel really uncomfortable. Advanced kayakers advise that you break out of your comfort zone. Somewhere between the two there must be a boundary; I suspect that's individual.

I'm really an advanced beginner in kayaking. I can self-rescue, but it's not fun to do in cold water, so capsizing that is not for true practice isn't what I do for fun. I know I have much to learn and do take lessons. So I stay away from conditions that I feel will push me into discomfort to the level that I don't enjoy myself that day.

I own a wide rec kayak, which I've used in windy, wavy conditions on mostly flat water. I've also used sea kayaks, though not in the open ocean or bay. I'm in the process of finding where my zone for learning vs. being out of my depth would be, so that I can invest in the latter appropriately.

Yesterday on open wide water canal systems I was setting off with some friends on their SOTs (mine is a sit-inside). To my dismay, the same waterways were being used by power boaters zooming by with waterskiers. The wave action every few minutes was so severe as to make my rec kayak feel really unstable. The dock from which I as launching was very difficult to stand on when the waves were hitting. I became so uncomfortable that I just gave up paddling there altogether. But my friends, who are minimally experienced in their SOTs were able to stand it. It's not that I've never been around large craft in a channel, but this felt extreme. And I do know to aim my bow into the wave, BTW.

Was I wrong to give up? Is a SOT that much more stable? Would you have enjoyed the water with those power boaters?

IMHO - real progress requires