Calories, Time, Distance

I’m still new to kayaking, recently upgraded to a Tahe Marine Midi and going longer distances. I’m not entirely sure how to figure out how much energy I’m putting out but want to learn so I can maximize my time on the water without bonking. I cycle and run so I have a better estimate for what my energy needs are for these activities.

For instance today I did 3 hours on a calm river out and back with a mild head wind after subtracting stop times. I took one energy gel when I was feeling like I needed it. I think I covered about 13 or so miles in this time. I’m wondering how I can calculate an actual reasonable caloric expenditure.

For longer times on the water I’m curious to know what you guys do for energy intake.

You need to take nurishment before
you feel you need it.

Here is a typical for me on a 25 mile training paddle at race pace last week I drink and eat by the mile and that way I know I am getting what I need.

1. I drink water every three miles on a cool day and ever two miles on a 90 degree day

2 a couple of peanut butter crackers at mile six
  2. a energy bar, (home made by my wife) at mile 12

4 half a power gel(mixed in a small water bottle) at mile 18
  3. the other half at mile 22

The longer you train, the more you’ll find what works for you.

Sometimes I’ll have two water supplies, One will be with watered down coke. That was my magic drink on century bike rides

jack L

gels
I carry gels for longer (3-4 hr) workout paddles and take 1 per hour. 1 gel=100 cals.

We all have plenty of on board fat calories to burn. 1 gel per hour keeps the fire going and the rest comes from stored fat and glycogen.

I like Nuun or GuBrew in warm weather as I sweat a lot. They dissolve in your water like alka-seltzer and are electrolytes without any sugar.

I’m 190 pounds…

– Last Updated: Sep-04-13 7:08 AM EST –