How to trim a canoe?

We just bought a canoe. It is a Wenonah and has a sliding bow seat. I was thinking I would set it on the ground and measure up from the ground and put some graduated marks on the bow and stearn. Then have someone observe from shore while we slide the seat forward and back. Then I could mark the spot that was level for each of us in the bow. Is there an easier way? Has anyone ever done this before? I have no experience with a sliding bow seat.

trimming Wenonah
Don’t know what your Wenonah is made of, but mine is thin enough that I can see the water line through the hull when backlit. Still, my wife and I usually adjust the canoe trim by how the canoe handles in a particular situation, rather than trying to achieve a uniform displacement.

Good Advice…
from the above posts. I’d add two things. What feels best to you is what is best. One of my paddleing friends likes boats trimmed more bow heavy than I do – its just a personal prefrence.

Also, some boats may be more fussy about trim than others. My old Cruiser had a striaght keel line and fine stems. It tracked great. It did not turn as well/easily as more rocker boats, however, and so I very often ran it a little stern heavy to help manuverability.

Have fun with it and you’ll get the feel for what you like.

Trim marks