SUP safety

Thank you for taking the time to read this I really hope I don’t come off as a grumpy old man sitting on his porch and yelling at kids to “GET OFF MY LAWN!”

My background is in water safety, it’s what I’m passionate about. Drowning is the second leading cause of accidental death in children and is easily prevented in most cases. SUP has a HUGE opportunity to impact the water safety of thousands (millions?) of people either in a positive way or a negative way. It is in everyone’s best interest that the industry chooses to be a positive force but this is just not happening.

Pick up any SUP magazine: the closest one to me at this moment is Stand-up Paddle Magazine Vol 5 # 6. There are 40 pictures of paddlers in advertisements: 5 are wearing lifejackets and two are wearing leases (in fairness some others might be wearing leashes however they are not seen in the photographs. In the articles there are 63 photos of people paddling (yes some are shown more than once) and two are wearing leashes and a single one is wearing a lifejacket (in rapids).

On the cover are two people paddling in sea caves with no safety equipment. Over a hundred paddlers and less than one in ten are wearing a minimum of safety equipment.

On the spread of pages 7-8 is a YOLO ad with four children paddling, none are wearing leashes and one is in a lifejacket. On page 64 is an article about paddling Norway in the winter without a single leash nor lifejacket. Again in fairness the coat the paddler is wearing maybe a ‘float coat’ but more than likely it is not. I picked up a random “Bicycling” magazine and 100% of the advertisements and 95%+ of the pictures had riders wearing helmets. Helmets are not a legal requirement, lifejackets are. I’ll also address the lifejacket law later.