Thule rack problem

-- Last Updated: Apr-07-15 10:15 PM EST --

Hey guys,

I'm new to transporting my kayaks on the roof of my vehicle and was having some issues with my Thule square bar rack. I will first point out that I was not using any bow and stern tie downs so I am hoping using them solves my problem. While driving the back roads last summer in moderate winds the bar on my rack was pushed almost all the way through the feet that are attached to my vehicle. If I hadn't pulled over because I noticed the kayaks moving they would have pulled all the way through. I have since tightened them down as much as possible but they weren't really loose in the first place. I am really afraid to put my yaks back up there for fear of this happening again. Do you think the bow and stern tie downs would correct this? While I feel it is safer to use them in general and will be using them from now on, I feel that it won't do much to prevent this. Maybe I am underestimating the importance of them. Has anyone else ever heard of this happening? I haven't been able to find anything remotely similar online. Anyways, thanks for any help that you can offer. If it matters I am transporting two 10'4" kayaks.

Pushed through the feet?
Like the bars had slid sideways enough to come out of the towers? We have had all Thule and never encounntered that level of movement, if I understand correctly. Over time they do need to be moved back into line with a rubber hammer but that is after multiple decent length drives to and from the launch. Never that kind of movement during a single trip.

But we also typically have had sea kayaks up there with neoprene cockpit covers, and occasional WW kayak tucked in. I wonder if thee is a different risk from wind with the boats like you are carrying.

correct