Used Cobra Fish n Dive - Issue ???

-- Last Updated: Jun-28-15 10:44 PM EST --

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to kayaking and to this forum. Been on canoes and boats all my life, but only recently did i have a chance to kayak a slower moving river that runs through Cortland NY. I was quite surprised at little it took for me to tip over on the borrowed sit in I was using. But no big deal.

After searching craigslist for a few weeks I caught a nice deal on an older FnD. It's at least seven years old and has no rod holders. I got the seat, paddle, some sort of fish finder (don't plan on using this to fish right now,) it will be used on milder small rivers.

We had a good inch of rain yesterday and I was able to have a great day on it today. I don't know how to classify water conditions, but I suppose they may have been class one or two in spots. After 5 minutes I took all the scupper plugs out as water and waves were washing all over it. I dumped once and after drifting 20 ft or so into calmer waters, I easily flipped it over. So much nicer than emptying out the sit in. I'm very impressed with this truck of a Kayak so far. Really impressed. It was stable, tracked nice, very comfortable. I'm 5'9", 220 lbs and gradually losing down from 235 last year.

After 3 hours on the river I had taken water on. Guessing maybe 3 to 5 gallons? Maybe less. As I paddled on, I occasionally checked to make sure I wasn't riding any lower in the water. I have a feeling it may be leaking from one or more of the tubes.

At this point I just don't care if it leaks a little. For it's age and what I paid it's a starter/beater. And if it gets to where it's an issue I'll fix it if possible. As things are now, it just doesn't affect me. My stuff stays dry and performance doesn't seem to suffer.