Board Recommendations for 230lb newbie

I am a complete newbie to Stand Up Paddle Boards. I have had one lesson and one rental experience. Both experiences started out extremely disappointing because I started on a board that was not suited to me.

Any recommendations on a good starter board for a 230lb newbie?

I’d reco the Aqua Marine Vapor
I’m always a big fan of an iSUP for a beginner. The Aqua Marina Vapor should do you well - quality product, affordable, and really easy to transport. It’s rated for 250lbs so you should have plenty of room to spare. I personally think they are a bit underrated in terms of weight - I’ve seen 300lbs sumo wrestlers on these guys.

We wrote a review on this board too if you’re looking for more information:

https://www.standuppaddleboard.guide/aqua-marina-vapor-10-10-inflatable-stand-paddle-board-sup-review/

Try ISLE
I posted earlier for another newbie who had combined weight of 160 plus a 60 lb dog but the ISLE Soft Top SUP is a solid board designed with beginners in mind.

There’s a 275 lb weight limit, it’s fairly lightweight, and best of all, it’s cheap so beginners who don’t want to spend a ton of money to get into a new sport can get a solid, well-constructed board for not a lot of money until they want to graduate on to something else (if they ever do!). ISLE is a good, reputable manufacturer. You can find this board on Amazon.

The downside to the Aqua Marine board is that the detachable fins have a habit of coming off coming in/going out when you drag in shallow water. Just something to keep in mind. I much prefer built in fins…no worry of losing one.