Avocet LV weight

Hi all,

I ordered a fiberglass Valley Avocet LV recently and while waiting to have it shipped, I asked the store to weigh the boat at a friend’s advice. As a side note, my friend ordered a different Valley kayak (Etain 17.3) which was 20lbs over the stated factory weight - he ended up exchanging it for a kayak which was within 2 lbs of factory stated weight.

It turns out the Avocet LV I ordered weighs in at 55lbs, the boat is 50lbs and hatch covers are 5 lbs. Stated factory weight (without hatches) is 45 lbs. I’m disappointed because one of my criteria for selecting the Avocet LV was a total weight of less than 50 lbs.

I am 5’ 2", 125 lbs, very athletic, but new to kayaking.

The kayak price is very good, but I’m worried a heavy Avocet LV will defeat the purpose of buying it. :frowning: I have an Eddyline Samba, 14ft which I love, but I’m finding I’m having trouble keeping up with the paddlers in my club who are paddling 16ft or longer kayaks and are more experienced. I was hoping the Avocet LV would give me more speed and would be a more fun kayak for ocean paddles.

Should I be concerned about the extra weight? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Dana

My guess
Is it’s the weight of the naked hull before the seat, foot braces and skeg are added, maybe even the deck lines as well. I wouldn’t worry about it.

I have an Avocet,
Although not an LV. Prior to purchasing I looked at many different Avocets, like you, looking for a lighter boat. the weight varied by over 10 lbs from the lightest to heaviest. The weight listed is 48 lbs, mine with the hatches weigh in at 46 lbs.

I think you may find with many composites that do not use cutting edge layup and vacuum technology there will be a large variance from the stated weight depending on that days production. Some employees may use more resin to achieve what they believe is a good product. Human built things vary in this manner, not a good or bad thing, it just is.