Rolling: LV vs. HV

Does the volume of a kayak make any significant difference in the roll? Sure, there are adjustments that must be made boat-to-boat, but is one going to be easier to roll than the other (for a good physics or anatomical reason)? One definitely feels easier than the other for me, but I’m wondering if it’s the size of the boat or the fit that is making the difference. I’m new at this so am looking for a seasoned opinion.

Easier in LV
Lower volume definitely makes a difference.

I believe the reason would be because with a LV kayak you have less volume to pull under yourself as you finish the roll. An HV kayak wants to stay at the surface and resists being pulled back into the water more.

Another way to look at it is the height that you need to pull yourself up out of the water. The submerged volume of either a LV or HV kayak is probably roughly the same under your weight, but you’ll sit lower to the water in a LV, so you save some distance that you need to rise to finish the roll.

Also, most LV kayaks are narrower. Narrower means less resistance throughout the roll. A wider HV kayak forces more of your body (hips and legs) to be above the water’s surface at the 90 degree part of the roll. Keeping your mass lower throughout the roll helps.

Chine shape probably also plays a part in how smoothly a roll happens as well. Hard, boxy chines will make it harder to kick over the halfway point of the roll, but will stabilize you more once you complete the roll. Really round chines will want to continue the momentum on the roll and sometimes you have to brace on the other side to avoid capsizing in the opposite direction.

All that said, a good fitting kayak of any size will be easier to roll than one that you are flopping around in. You need to be able to translate the motion of your body directly to the kayak, and that won’t happen if the fit is too loose.

Anyway, that’s just my take on things.

Less volume easier. Rounder easier