Florida wilderness waterway trail

Looking at doing the wilderness waterway trail some time next fall. Im new to kayaking but not to backpaking.i only have ascend d10 kayak and was wondering if this kayak would be ok for this type of trip or am i getting in over my head. Thanks in advance for all your help.

Rent a sea kayak
In Everglades city

Look over the Everglades Diary Website and Everglades Exploration Network

Your boat has several drawbacks

It’s slow

It lacks capacity to carry all the freshwater you need.

It’s slow

Tidal currents run up to 4 mph so a fast boat is best

Kayaks need a spray cover .Winds after 10 are in the 20 mph to 25 mph range and kick up big fast period chop. Put a wind and a contrary tide together and you have a real problem

Your boat and you should be able to do 20 miles a day and as you need to watch tides your trips may be partly at night

You can’t reserve ahead. Have a variety of itineraries in mind

The WW is really monotone. Most kayakers like a variety some in the mangroves and some on the Gulf

The WW is NOT sheltered waters. It’s big sky big water and not a dark swamp

At a distance it’s like paddling big northern lakes

If you are new I recommend a short guided trip of several days . You can learn a lot about the area and some tactics for reading sky current wind and tides for your next trip

Burnham Guides is a good company

Thanks
For the information i will take a look at the other sites.

The end to end trip
Can take 10 days. Faster paddlers/boats can do it in 7

Each day out you need 1gal water

10 gal is approx 90 lbs

I usually end with leftover water but think going with less is a mistake. You can spill some or have a raccoon steal some and then you’d be up that creek

Yes, you would be getting in way over…
your head !

Every thing that kayamedic says and more !

You would absolutely need a much longer boat.

And a lot of experience. Tides and fronts can make or break your trip, (have you thought about them?).