Should I choose a canoe or a kayak for a beginner?

(Sorry if this gets posted often)

Hello,

I have no paddling experience but I want to get into the sport. I am stuck between choosing a canoe or a kayak. Canoes seem to be able to hold more cargo and have better stability, but kayaks seem to be faster and if you accidentally tip over, you can learn to do a roll to get it back up,

I mainly want to do river and lake paddling. In 2020 I want to attempt to do the Mississippi River from source to sea. This would be after gaining three and a half years experience of course. I’ve done a lot of research and the Mississippi River is wide enough at many points that if you tip over in a canoe, self-rescue might be impossible. There are also many portages at the beginning, and I’ve read that kayaks are lighter and easier to carry.

For canoes, since they have more space, I can easily fit all the camping gear and other supplies in it. They also have more stability but if I do tip over in the middle of the river, things might go wrong very fast.

Thanks!

Whoa! I think you need to slow down a bit on your ambitions. Find out if you actually LIKE paddling first before planning this expedition. You clearly have much to learn and can’t even know at this point how much you DON’T know. Kayaks and canoes come in many different types and variations and the sort that you would be likely to use for a self-supported extended journey is not necessarily what might be the best to learn basic skills with. Is there a local paddling club or outfitter that you can get started with in the Spring? Find a place where you can get some basic lessons, preferably with boats provided by the instructor. Then start doing some day trips, preferably with other more experienced paddlers, on rivers in your area.