15' aluminum for first canoe?

I have some canoeing experience. I’d like to start taking my kids out on small ponds, lakes, and slower rivers. I have a chance to get a 15 foot (maker unknown) aluminum canoe. I’d be in it for $200. I also have a chance to purchase an OT Stillwater 14 for a bit more. I’m a little divided. Or should I wait till another longer canoe comes along?

It’s hard to go wrong for 200 bucks if it gets you on the water. The Stillwater, if I’m not mistaken, is fiberglass which is definitely a step up in overall quality and performance, but at 14 feet, it will be at least as limiting as the other boat, in terms of handling growing kids. Maybe your decision should depend on how big the kids are right now, and how much you’d mind looking for another boat later on, considering the convenience and low cost of this particular boat. Also, it might be hard to know right now if the kids will even enjoy canoeing as they get bigger, and maybe you won’t ever need a larger boat. I’m sure other posters will point out other “non-definite facts” to help you make up your mind.

Three year old girl, six year old boy.

14 foot is too small for a tandem boat - even 15 foot is on the short side, but I’d go for the aluminum boat if these are the choices. The weight differential - you in the back, much lighter kid in the front - means the boat is going to be way out of trim. In a short boat it will look like you are doing a wheelie, and that can be pretty unstable - especially if you have a kid moving around in the front. I paddled with my young daughter for years, and had the same problem. We used a 17 foot boat with a sliding bow seat that I could move way to the front. Moving the seat forward helped with the trim and also got her in a narrower part for the boat so she could paddle easier. Even so, we were way out of trim. (This seems like so long ago - she was 8 or 9 then with a pretty determined stroke)