Another new kayak thread...

Hey guys,

Another new kayak thread…

looking to move into a touring boat finally and start pushing my skills, and going on longer 2+ week excursions.

Im a pretty stocky guy, only 5’7 and around 250 lbs.

A boat that I’ve paddled that has stood out to me so far is a Delta 17.

Do you guys have any other suggestions? I work in the outdoor industry so I do have discounts available from CD, Necky, and WS.

Let me know any follow up questions, and I know the best practice is getting out and paddling, but I don’t live in a very good area for that, so doing some internet legwork can help get figure out what will work for me to a certain degree!

Thanks!
M.

From what I have experience with.

Composite = Impex Assateague

Polyethylene Single Layer = Venture Jura HV
https://www.ebay.com/itm/262725443952

Corelite X triple layer polyethylene = P&H Scorpio HV

Where are you located?

Others can chime in with experience in the CD and Confluence models.

See you on the water,
Marshall
The Connection, Inc.
Hyde Park, NY
845-228-0595 main
845-242-4731 mobile
Main: www.the-river-connection.com
Store: www.the-river-connection.us
Facebook: fb.me/theriverconnection

Used Prijon Kodiak, hard to find but good for expeditions and your weight.

For Necky, about all that I would consider is if they still make the Looksha 5/Looksha 17/Looksha Elite. On the whole., Necky is making more recreational style boats and moved away from touring kayaks.