Recommendations for a Kayak to take your dog out on.

Hello All,

To start out i’m a novice at kayaking and looking to purchase a kayak for some recreational use. I’ve looked at several hardshells but haven’t found one at a reasonable price that would fit myself and my dog (black lab, roughly 90lb’s". I’ve read some good things about inflatable kayaks, but never used one so I am a little skeptical. If any of you fine folks have a recommendation on a particular kayak, or can just share your experiences with kayaking with your pets that would be great!

I can’t think of even a recreational kayak that has a big enough cockpit to accommodate a paddler and a 90lb dog.

I suggest you look at a Sit On Top…or even a canoe.

Hello Kfbrady. I should elaborate a bit. He’s mostly tall not round. I saw this particular kayak and in one of the reviews a gal also had a brown lab which seemed to work.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00J0S0JGS/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

Kinda’ depends upon how much and where you intend to take the dog. We are limited by “gator” water. Our 83 pound, stands up after and hour and unsteadies the boat, retriever isn’t going into swamps, rivers , etc where gators frequent. But that is different than most of y’all.
In flat water we put the dog on the back of a SOT fishing kayak. The paddler gets a work out and the dog is happy to go. In the summer, we swim the dog before getting in the boat. The fishing kayak has scuppers that squirt water up when putting on some speed/power stroke. Paddler and dog is a load for a 12ft boat. If he’s wet, and cool, the squirts don’t bother him. He has his own kayak but he can’t paddle very well.

Towing the dog in “his” kayak is cumbersome. He gets tired of it all and just swims to shore. This kayak makes a better drink dispenser at parties, ice & cans.

Ocean Kayak, Tetra with dog in back.