DIY/low-budget roof rack options?

Hi, I’m new to paddling and am in the process of buying my first yak (I’ve borrowed them up until this point).

What DIY or low-budget solutions are people using to transport their kayaks? My car is new, so there’s no aftermarket for it yet and I don’t want to spend $800 on an OEM roof rack. Who’s come up with a highway-safe solution that they’re happy with?

Thanks!

Thinking about something like this:

https://www.rackattack.com/water-sport-racks/kayak-racks/sportrack-jetty-deluxe-24/

Make, Model & Year of car?

You mentioned you have a new car so you might want to first check your owner’s manual to see if running straps inside the car will interfere with the deployment of curtain or side air bags.

What type of kayak are you purchasing?

Agreed a safe and suitable rack is a substantial investment good until next car. Critical to any secure rig is unitizing saddles to vehicle so the load stays still. While I like the rigid bar concept of the budget set-up, I suspect shaped pads and boat will be shifting around on roof, rubbing roof paint and possible worse.

Please consider dropping a few $$ on Yakima or Thule with lots of parts that can be had used on Craigslist and such even for new ride. A trailer is another option but again some cash.

Unfortunately, I’ve reached my budget limit on this project, so even if I do want to get something substantial, it’ll have to wait. Another few months and the aftermarket should catch up with my car anyway. But I need to drive 100 miles to go get my boat next week and need at least a stop-gap way to get her home safely.

I got a new Wilderness Systems Focus 155 on close out. Pretty pumped!

Natty, I think you said the most important words…“highway safe”.
Not only are you concerned with the safety of your boat and car but the safety of humans in your car or another vehicle if accident occurs because your kayak partially or totally leaves your car.