Multi-day touring/flatwater instruction sought

Hi all,

New member to this site, but I’ve been reading some of the threads and equipment reviews.

I’m a beginner in terms of skills. I’ve been on a few day trips while on vacations, but most of my experience comes from having rented 14’ kayaks (Tsunami 140) from a local operation here. I purchased a season pass last year and made the most of it - going two to four times per week after work and on the weekends. But… this was on calm/sheltered water. No sprayskirt, no need for any particular expertise with different strokes, leaning/turning, and certainly no rolls or even wet exits. Just paddle up river then back. Fun, and it built me some decent endurance, but no expertise.

I’d like to up my skill game. What I’m envisioning would be two to five days of instruction where I can sharpen my skills while also getting away and having fun. I’m mindful that five consecutive days of instruction might be overwhelming so perhaps a better fit for me would be fewer days or a mix of instruction and down time. I’m not looking for whitewater instruction, but rather flatwater with some exposure to coastal paddling.

Any thoughts? I see that there are shops in Charleston and Savannah that offer some educational opportunities. I’m on the east coast, so those destinations would be easy for me, but I’m not averse to going farther afield. I’d happily go to Nova Scotia (always wanted to visit anyway) if that worked.

I look forward to your suggestions.

Thanks… Greg

https://forums.paddling.com/discussion/1538854/adirondack-canoe-symposium
http://www.canoetripping.net/forums/forum/general/events/59498-adirondack-canoe-symposium

https://www.ccprc.com/1584/East-Coast-Paddlesports-Symposium
April 21-23