Big Guys and Kayaking

First off, Hello world! I’m a newbie to kayaks and am looking to get my feet wet. So I’m here for a little education.

I’m a big guy, 6ft and 320 lbs. with bad ankles and worse balance. I’m a fisherman and scuba diver based in Florida and researching kayaks that will work as a platform for both of those hobbies and not break the bank.

I’ve seen a number of posts about kayak recommendations for big guys. Most of the time recommendations are for Hobies, Jacksons, Natives, etc. Pardon my ignorance, but while the rigs look amazing, I don’t understand why folks spend $2000-3000 on a kayak when they can find small power and flats boats in that range.

So my question is to the budget minded newbie big man. Are there decent options out there that are well under $1000 and in that 500+ lbs weight capacity? Thus far my research has turned up the likes of the Eddie-gear Stingray XL, the Vibe Sea Ghost 130, the Perception Striker 11.5 and a couple of the Perception tandem boats. Any one out there have any input or recommendations?

First, make sure the boat you want can handle a good 50 pounds more than you weigh,. They may say a certain max load, but when you approach it, you often find that performance/speed/stability/etc. varies.

Florida, many people use sit on top kayaks. Of the boats you listed that I know, does look like you are also looking at SOTs.

You are going to do best with longer boats. The 11.5, and even the 13, mentioned would have to be very wide to be able to handle your weight. Better to look at longer and narrower (all relative - you are still looking at 30"+ width).

You may want to consider one of the doubles out there that can be used as a single (so seat can be moved to middle position). Ocean Kayak Malibu 2XL comes to mind. Maybe the Malibu 2 also.

_ @brandonwanner@comcast.net said:
First off, Hello world! I’m a newbie to kayaks and am looking to get my feet wet. So I’m here for a little education.