Sealed bulkheads

Newbie here, looking to buy my first kayak. I’ve always just rented one when I wanted to go before, but that’s no longer an option. I’d like to know what brands have two sealed bulkheads. I’ve seen Eddyline pop up many times… but there’s got to be more? Eddyline is a little out of my price range too. The kayak would be used mostly on a lake, or on a moderately calm river on occasion. Thanks!

Virtually all rigid (plastic or composite) touring kayaks longer than 12’ have dual bulkheads – they are considered a mandatory feature. Only cheaper “recreational” style sit-inside kayaks under 14’ lack them. There are some smaller kayaks, like those made by Eddyline, which do have bulkheads. Some shorter kayaks, like the Wilderness Experience Pungo 12, have one bulkhead, usually in the stern (rear). This is almost as much of a problem as having none at all since if the boat is swamped the front end will sink with the boat vertical in the water. The video in this recent p.net post vividly illustrates what happens when a boat without dual bulkheads is swamped, even in shallow calm water (he’s in a Pungo 12 and you can see later in the video how the front sinks because it fills with water – this is called “Cleopatra’s Needle” because it sticks up in the air like an obelisk monument). The only option when this happens is to swim to shore dragging your boat to empty it. You can see how this would be a problem out in the middle of a lake.

http://forums.paddling.com/discussion/2934928/this-guy-needs-a-pfd#latest