Anyone use a Fishing Kayak just for fun?

I am new and buying my first kayak! WOOHOO!!! I live in NY Hudson Valley and plan to relocate to Anna Maria Island (Sarasota Fla Area). I plan to do just recreational paddling around lakes, reservoirs, slow rivers, and when in Fla gentler water of bays and gulf. (There are no dog friendly beaches in our area but if you boat there are small ‘islands’ boaters pull up and hang out with dogs and picnic etc) My skill and fitness level as well as use only in summer / warm weather has me firmly decided on a sit on top, (I am 6’ tall and over 200 lbs) but when shopping I fell in love with the removable “beach chair” seat of the fishing kayak. I’d love to paddle around, find a beach spot, unload my gear (day at the beach stuff) and my dog (sometimes) 40 lb Goldendoodle. I’m also an artist and amateur photographer… The Ascend FS 12T or the Pelican Catch 120 look like the could hold a lot of beach gear, and the flat bottom would be great for my dog, I love the idea of being able to stand up in it like a paddleboard! (I haven’t fished in years, my family not interested…but when I did it was off boat or dock for fluke/flounder…no sport fishing…and I don’t know that I’d go get geared up for that again) So to my experienced paddlers (especially those on Gulf Coast Fla)_ is it silly or do people buy fishing kayaks for recreation_? Is there something I’m not considering before I make this purchase? I do realize I’d give up speed for stability, but like that old blues song goes “I’m built for comfort, not for speed!”

Yes, can be done and not a bad idea.

But, as you said fishing kayaks are often made for stability, to the point that it can negatively impact performance. There really is a large performance impact for that standing ability. Might be worth finding a demo day or dealer that has boats on a beach that you can try side by side to see how they are.