Down Top Quilt

Does anyone here use a quilt instead of a sleeping bag? A friend swears by one and I just wanted to get other opinions before I spring for one, thanks!!

I have permanently switched to top quilts. I love them. No zippers to mess with. A lot easier to deal with for me with a gimpy knee that doesn’t bend well anymore. Lighter weight and more packable with the same comfort and warmth. I have a summer weight and a zero degree for cold weather. I use an Exped sleeping pad.

Thanks, Rafter!! I was wondering about different pads with the quilt on top, currently I use a z-rest pad or a self inflating pad from Liberty Mtn. I’ve heard good things about Expeds!

The Exped is the only pad I’ve ever found that is comfy on the ground. When I’m rafting, I use a roll-a-cot with either the Exped or a thermarest partially inflated. I was worried about cold weather trips with the quilt, so I got a zero degree, wide width, and it rocks. I have always felt claustrophobic in sleeping bags, and I have found the quilts to be heavenly. My quilts have come from small cottage industry folks who make quality quilts.
http://wildernesslogics.com/main.sc (having a sale right now, Marty makes great stuff)
http://hammockgear.com

I’m a member of a hammock camping Facebook group and have been out on a few camping trips with them. The members almost exclusively use top quilts (along with bottom quilts on the hammocks). I don’t use a true top quilt, but I find myself using my sleeping bag like a top quilt most of the time. I zip up the bag about two feet and sleep with the zipper side down and the bag over me. A top quilt genererally works the same way, just without the zippers.

Before you splurge on a top quilt, try that with your sleeping bag. If it works for you then go ahead and splurge on a top quilt and save the weight of the zipper.

Thanks again Raftergirl, I wasn’t aware of wildernesslogics but it looks like they offer good porducts at a great price!

@BrianSnat said: