clothing for inflatable kayak in california ocean waters

I’m new to kayaking and recently acquired an inflatable (innova seawave). I’m little puzzled about what to wear when water temps are 60-65F and air temp is 70+ with strong sun (e.g. CA central coast & south). I have semi-dry pants, which work great so far, but I’m unsure about the top. Except when going through the surf, the chance of going for a swim feel very slim, and getting back on is almost as easy as a sit-on-top. So I’m looking for something that keeps me comfy in wind, splash and sun, but doesn’t become a liability in the off-chance of getting dunked. I’m hesitating between 1.5mm hydroskin or equiv and a merino wool sweater plus paddling jacket. What I don’t have a feel for is how the wool + jacket combination feels after a swim (and at the moment I don’t really feel like trying it out just for the sake of it). Does anyone have experience with wool?

How do you know it is easy to get back into an inflatable? Have you tried it while great whites are circling?

My thought is for the ocean, a wet suit, or a dry suit unless you are talking about a protected bay.

1 Like

Assuming you are talking coastal locations, here are estimated and recorded water temperatures:
Santa Barbara and south: https://www.nodc.noaa.gov/dsdt/cwtg/spac.html
SLO and north: https://www.nodc.noaa.gov/dsdt/cwtg/cpac.html

Match that with this handy chart on useful time, hypothermia, and recommended clothing from University of Sea Kayaking:
https://useakayak.org/references/hypothermia_table.html.

• Loss of dexterity column is saying how long before your body starts shunting all its blood to just your core, to protect the vital organs if you are wearing street clothes. Downside to when this happens is you lose the ability to effectively use your arms and legs, so you can;t get back on your kayak nor swim when this occurs.