4 day Buffalo River canoe trip

A friend and I would like to take a 4 day canoe camping trip down the Buffalo River between March 15 and March 30. I figure about 8-10 miles/day, so maybe from Ponca to Carver?? I’m used to slow waters and like to be on the water maybe 4-5 hours/day. I’ve got some mild whitewater experience, he is a fast learner.

Can you recommend a good canoe livery for our shuttle? Is the section I mentioned a good one? Will there be a big Spring Break river dork crowd that maybe we should look for another river or another time? Any comments are appreciated.

The Buffalo has a small watershed and water goes up and down really fast
Done it several times including the entire river downstream of Ponca in 4 days during high water
Ponca can be a rough start if water is high or low
Buffalo Outoor Center can put you in at Steele Creek and you can go down to Woolum or Carver
8 miles a day is horridly slow. More realistic is 12-15 unless you just want to float and not paddle. I aim for 15-20

You will need to be flexible when planning a trip on the upper Buffalo in advance. Water levels are not a given. If you look at historical discharge data for the Ponca USGS gauge, daily mean flows for the period March 15 - March 30 averaged over the last 8-9 years are anywhere from 234 cfs to 818 cfs. Remember, these are mean flows for an 8 year period, so in any given year the flow for the particular date may have been considerably lower or higher than that.