Opinions on Wenonah Sundowner 18' for novice and family

Hi,

I am new to canoeing. We have been searching for a used canoe for my wife and me as well as our two children, ages 2 and 4. I found a 1994 Wenonah Sundowner 18’ Kevlar that weighs 42 pounds and comes with 3 wooden paddles for $1,400. I also found a burgundy 1994 Wenonah Sundowner 18’ Tuf-weave with wood trim and 3 wooden paddles for $1,200. This one weighs 68 pounds. I wasn’t specifically looking for a Sundowner, I just happened upon these two canoes in my area. Both canoes are original owner. The tuf-weave canoe is in perfect condition, the Kevlar one has no damage but has a more worn look to it. Maybe that’s just the Kevlar though, I’m new to this so still learning. I’m planning to use the boat on mainly lakes, and the occasional river in the Pacific Northwest. Basically as a recreation boat for my family. I basically was wondering if anyone had any advice…if this is a good boat for beginners and for families. I’m leaning toward the tuf-weave boat, for the price and the condition, but wanted some opinions. Are these good prices? Is Kevlar the way to go? Should I keep looking? Thank you, your help is much appreciated.

The Wenonah Sundowner 18 is a good boat. Wenonah also made a Sundowner 17 which had significantly less initial stability. The 18 footer is pretty fast and hard tracking. It won’t be the easiest to turn and is probably best suited for flat water use or wide rivers that do not require much maneuvering…

The Kevlar boat is probably skin-coated. That means there is just a coat of vinyl ester resin on the exterior, no colored gel coat. If that is the case, you will see the weave of the honey-colored Kevlar showing through. Skin-coated boats can tend to show more wear because the resin gets scratched and sometimes worn off completely. The appearance can be substantially restored by applying a coat of clear, low viscosity epoxy and/or marine varnish.