Repair Advice for Stitch and Glue Kayak

I just bought a Pygmy Coho from the builder. The kayak looks like it’s in good shape but it does have some scratches and scrapes from use on the Maine coast, plus keel wear at the bow and stern from being beached or dragged. The stern wear appears to go completely through the fiberglass at its worst point. I’m wondering how aggressive people get at repairing issues like this. I’m primarily aiming to protect and preserve the kayak but don’t need to maintain a just-built perfect appearance. Since I’m not the builder, I don’t have that automatic desire to fix every blemish on something I’ve worked so hard to create. I’ll continue to use this kayak in Maine, so it will to get new scratches and scrapes.

I am not a fiberglassing expert, but have no fears of tackling some repairs. My first thought would be to sand off the paint in the keel wear areas and apply a new layer of 2 inch wide fiberglass cloth tape using good epoxy resin. After finishing the fiberglass, repaint the repaired area. For the smaller dings, sand off the paint and apply a little resin (no new fiberglass) and then paint, or perhaps just touching up with paint alone would suffice? Fortunately, the seller gave me a quart of the Interlux Brightside polyurethane paint used on the hull. She also gave me an unopened West Marine 101-6 Maxi Repair kit that contains six small packets of resin and hardener. I’m wondering if one or two of those packets would give me enough resin for the fiberglass tape on the keel areas or if I need to buy a larger quantity. I’d rather not waste all of the repair resin packets if one or two won’t suffice.

Here are a few photos. I’d be grateful for any advice. Thank you.

Normally there is an extra two inch FG tape layer all along the keel… If it is worn to the wood (hard to tell in the pics) I would definitely add some new FG tape. I would save the epoxy packets and get a small bottle of epoxy.