Bear Creek Mirage questions/general fiberglass boat questions

I just purchased this used canoe. All I ever had was a 17 foot coleman from the early 80’s, so I am a newbie. I have done a little whitewater kayaking and we have some sitontop cheap kayaks for the lake.

First question, what is the best option for protecting the bottom? It has some dings in the gel coat along the keel I need to fix, and then I want to protect the bow and stern keel regions. The boat will be used in deeper lakes primarily.

Next question, where can I find a replacement seat? Bear creek is not answering me. One of the seats has the wicker caning blown out. I can make a wooden one, or maybe weave webbing, or something else in the old frame. I am open to suggestions.

Next, what kind of flex should I expect with the hull? I notice it likes to rack when I shift around. The floor is more rigid than the plastic coleman, but the hull racks along the axis of the keel if I shift around. Is this normal in a fiberglass boat? Do I need to do something to stiffen it?

Last question…I think, what double blade paddle works well for these? I used my wife’s sitontop kayak paddle the other day, and I really like it, but it needs more blade to it, and more length. I really have no idea how to size a double blade for a canoe. I an sitting on the bow seat for solo, so not as far forward as I could.

Any advice to a novice is appriciated, I intend to do some extended camping trips on local tva lakes. This is something I have never done in a canoe, but since my knee blew out, backpacking has become a thing of the past until I can have surgery.

Thanks for the help

@Redman2006 said:
First question, what is the best option for protecting the bottom? It has some dings in the gel coat along the keel I need to fix, and then I want to protect the bow and stern keel regions. The boat will be used in deeper lakes primarily.

You can install skid plates on the bow and stern. I followed these excellent instructions: