Help ID this 1996 Nordkapp by Valley any info on how it handles

I am curious about how this boat handles and what version of Nordkapp it is. the add has np but also hm what ever that means.

The built in hull skeg is different from the Nordkapps I have seen.

Looks like a HMC HM stands for hull modified {built on skeg} the C stands for a slalom cockpit. The keyhole cockpit debuted with the Jubilee {about 1998}

Supposedly the Nordkapp HM tended to leacock under certain conditions. Nick Crowhurst evidently removed part of the built-in-hull skeg and added a Karitek skeg. This led to better handling.

I have no personal experience with this boat and am relying on hearsay. Hopefully others with first hand knowledge will respond.

There is also a Nordkapp HS how might it compare to the HM. Which would you prefer and why?

This model of Nordkapp is the fastest of the Nordkapp series. it’s a straight line kayak. When the Jubilee was introduced this was addressed by adding aprox 2 inches of rocker in the stern. Works fine for the HM but for HS it was a little too much rocker for the targeted design. The H2O took a about 3/4 of an inch of rocker out and helped for the HS model {the HM was no longer produced} This model {pre-Jubilee} is also the most tender for the unskilled.

Oops here is the HS photo

The HS {hull “standard”} turns better than the early HM. But you lose gear capacity with the skeg box etc. I have a HM Jubilee . it turns a lot like the older HS , with no loss of space for the skeg box. The Jubilee also had some volume added to the hull just aft of the cockpit so it isn’t as touchy. My wife paddles my old HMC {1993} and she likes it, I like my HM jubilee. The H20 is the latest model and incorporates many of the features I like . For day paddling , I believe that a Nordkapp LV in Kevlar {light weight } would be nice.

@castoff said:
I am curious about how this boat handles and what version of Nordkapp it is. the add has np but also hm what ever that means.