Looking to purchase a kayak

Hello. I’m relatively new to Kayaking and I’m looking for some advice. I’m part of a group that is actively managing a small pond. We’re in the process of harvesting water chestnuts. Up to this point we’ve gone out in pairs using a canoe. I’d like to purchase a kayak so I’m able to get out by my self when I have the time. . I’m 6’ tall and weight about 240 lbs. I’m looking for a kayak I can use without breaking the bank. Any suggestions? Thanks

If what you’ve mentioned are your only criteria, your options are pretty limitless. Even a cheap “pool toy” big box store kayak would be suitable for a leisurely float around a small pond. Of course there are better options out there, but if price is your main concern find one of these on the used market to get you started. You may find that you like it and want to take it further, and if you do then upgrade as needed.

I’ve watched many reviews on various kayaks and some of them are quite informative. The only thing that’s not mentioned is the size of the individual. Some of the kayaks I’ve looked at seem fine and look like they’ll do the job but the max weight is 250 or 275 lbs. how close can you get to the max weight and still stay dry?

To harvest water chestnuts you need to reach down into the water and pull them up from the bottom. A canoe rides a little high but it can be done. I’m hoping a kayak will bring me a little closer to the water and is stable enough for me to lean over a little and reach down into the water.