Isup and Kayaking in the desert

Hello,
I am relatively new to the southwest Arizona Desert (Imperial CA, El centro CA, Yuma AZ). While I am experianced in ISUP and Kayaking in the Midwest I am eager to get out in my new area and do this in the Southwest Arizona desert. Is there anything I need to know about the Colorado River or the rivers in Arizona that I need to be cautious about?

Use lots of sunscreen a wide brimmed hat, paddling gloves, sunglasses, etc. As for the Colorado, it is pretty tame if you don’t count high winds on the reservoirs. Most places on the river, there is a little too much current to make a round trip of it. I would recommend checking out the lower end of Lake Mohave. Lake Havasu also has some good paddling. The rest of them, not so much. And then there is Lake Mead, but that might be quite a distance for you. Martinez Lake down by Yuma might be a good one, but I don’t think I’ve ever actually been there. At times the boat traffic can be the biggest hazard.

Thank you!! Yeah I noticed boat traffic and the currents as well making me think it will only be a 1 way paddle trip. I go to Lake Havasu lots of times but its always crowded with boating, jet skis etc. I Just remembered Martinez lake I will go check that area out. Thank you