Insuring your new and Expensive canoe

Hi all. Newbie here. I just bought a new lightweight canoe and was looking to make sure it would be covered by insurance (theft, damage in transit, etc) and found my insurance company caps out at $1500 for this category. My boat is over $3000. So far, it appears the big name insurers’ scope are motorized craft and want to drop a bunch of liability/healthcare coverage, etc.

Anyone know of a good insurer who specializes in this?

You probably would have to place a rider on your home owners policy if you have one. I have two boats in that category.

I always figured it was up to me to protect my boats so insurance would be to protect them from my negligence. A liability rider would be a good idea in case you somehow hurt someone else.

Paint it rainbow coloured camo and you can stroke “theft” off your list of worries.

We have two canoes and three kayaks in that price range and I figure if one of them gets stolen, etc, I’ ll just buy another new one

Seems self insurance is cheaper. I have 13 boats. I am willing to accept the risk should anyone want to charge my backwoods property with dog

Ditto on the homeowner’s policy if applicable. I have three kayaks covered, all for full replacement value (one kayak is kevlar). That covers theft and damage at home. My insurance agent told me my car insurance would cover any theft or damage during transit.

@JackL said:
We have two canoes and three kayaks in that price range and I figure if one of them gets stolen, etc, I’ ll just buy another new one

Where do you live?

@string said:

@JackL said:

Where do you live?

Chicago area; Lake County

@Rookie said:
Ditto on the homeowner’s policy if applicable. I have three kayaks covered, all for full replacement value (one kayak is kevlar). That covers theft and damage at home. My insurance agent told me my car insurance would cover any theft or damage during transit.