Need Help Storing a Custom Kayak Built by my Grandfather

Hi Everyone! My grandfather built me a 17’ wooden kayak which is AMAZING. But I’m new to the world of boat owning and have no idea how to store it. Right now, I live with my parents while looking for a house, and this is how the boat is being stored

I’ve Googled a million articles, but am confused and not the handiest. I don’t know whether it’s ok to leave it in the position it is or to lean it against the wall, where to push cushions or towels to support the hull, and how to cover it. Should I get a tarp? How can I suspend it, or can I just lay it on top? I live in the woods and have never experienced crime, but because it’s so valuable to me, should I invest in locking it up?

I’m a bit overwhelmed and could really use some help protecting this boat. Thank you so much in advance.

It can easily be hung upside down under the deck with a couple of straps. Or set on a couple of sawhorses. I would not leave it that close to the ground.
A friend built one and it hangs on the wall of their den.

I would not use any waterproof covering for it because that would just trap moisture against the wood and could degrade the finish. With a wood boat you don’t have to worry about the problems that have to be considered with plastic boats – it won’t soften with heat and warp like they do.

I would get an elasticized cockpit cover for it , which will keep critters out better than the plastic you have over it now.

When I store my boats outside I cover them with a lightweight canvas painters tarp. You can get these that are 20’ x 6’, just the right size to drape over a kayak to keep debris and sunlight off of it. I get mine at a Sherwin-WIlliams paint store whenever they have their 30% off sales. The canvas will eventually get discolored and mildewed but can be machine washed.