Deltoid strain, Greenland paddle

For some, but not all, of the past few outings, I have experienced a slight pain in my right deltoid muscle. (I had Lillyflowers google that for me, I wouldn’t know a deltoid from an Altoid). I’m new to the Greenland paddle, this is my first year and I doubt I have 100 miles under my belt on it.

I rotate my torso, I cant the blade, I release past the hip, my hands graze and even touch the water, my top hand is at my eye/chin level and moving downward, I’m pushing with the top hand.

So… what should I look out for? I’m not sure I’m confident enough to post a video. Until recently I was paddling it more like a Euro blade with a forward catch and early release. I know I have a lot to learn.

Could be you’re releasing too late. My blade is out before it’s past my hips.
http://www.qajaqusa.org/Technique/Greenland_technique_from_the_source.html

@Rookie said:
Could be you’re releasing too late. My blade is out before it’s past my hips.
http://www.qajaqusa.org/Technique/Greenland_technique_from_the_source.html

That article describes how to do it wrong and how to do it right (though not explicitly stating it, because the article was originally intended for discussion). Excerpts from the article:

“My belief is that although the popularity of Greenland style paddling has grown steadily in this country, it has grown in a vacuum, separated from its origins.
[…]
For the sake of discussion I will refer to the Greenland forward stroke technique that is commonly taught and practiced in this country as the “recreational stroke”.”

Recreational Stroke
[…]
Exit Phase (releasing the paddle from the water). The paddle blade exits the water early, before it reaches the hip.”

Maligiaq’s Stroke Mechanics
[…]
Exit Phase. Instead of releasing the paddle early, Maligiaq allows the paddle blade to travel past his hip and the blade exits the water displaying a higher degree of forward tilt than during the initial catch.”