Best canoe for three people

Hello all,

I’ve been doing adventure races for several years now. They require a watercraft that can hold your three person team and you never know if your going to be on a river with some mild rapids or a flat lake.

This year we are looking to buy a canoe instead of always trying to borrow one.

Can anyone suggest what canoes we should be looking at, or if we should consider a three person tri-yak by Feel Free?

I think our wants in order are, speed, manuverability then light weight.

Cost is a factor, so I think kevlar is out, unless someone out there wants to sponsor us.:wink:

stock boat
or can you make your own canoe? For the price of a decent roylex tandem you should be able to make a triple in wood/glass that would fly.

stock boat
We’re looking at a stock boat, right now building a boat would be too much of an undertaking. I guess we’re looking for what people think is the ideal stock boat for our situation, then we’ll try and find one used or look for one new.

Also, during most races everyone has canoes but it seems like everyone is using kayak paddles instead of canoe paddles. Is this generally thought of as faster?

more info
What is the combined weight of your team?

How long is the paddle part of the race?

info
I bet together we weigh around 450 lbs. The paddlingportion is always unknown for lenght. One year it was across a large lake, another time down a river with rapids and some stretches of flat water. They lasted about an hour and a half. It doesn’t seem like a long time but I think there’s alot of time to be gained and energy to be saved if we’re prepared properly.

Wenonah Sundowner 17 or OT Penobscot 17?
In Royalex, those are the first two that come to mind. Don’t know how either would do with 3 people – probably depends on your weight and amount of gear.

You might be better off looking for a used composite boat.

Trinoe