Need portable toilet advice

Going to take 20-25 paddlers on an overnight wilderness canoe/kayak trip in July on the Etowah River and will need a portable toilet for the campsite.

I’ve looked at Thetford, Century and Kampa with prices around $120 + shipping and chemicals. The price is fine, but asking for suggestions or experience. The Thetford (battery operated) appears to be the best.

Thanks,

Richard

1 Like

www.nrsweb.com
Dogmaticus

PVC “Poop” torpedo
Make a bunch of torpedos.

Just a thought …
… a small collapsable camp shovel , biodegradable t.paper , an H.C. potty w/lift out bucket , a 3 or 4 pole curtain for privacy , a red and white emblem (cardboard) to flip over to red when in use , a toilet brush and a 5 gal. bucket (fill with water and some bio cleaner) … each person cleans up behind theirself (burys their deposit) …

PETT wag bags
http://www.thepett.com/

OK, I have used their WAG bags on Mt Whitney, however, I have no experience with the actual toilet thing the bags are made to fit over. You can just use the bags as is, but they are made to fit their portable toilet thing.

If you want to make one out of PVC, I second the suggestion of making those torpedo things… climbers use them…

Jay

Look at this
http://www.outbackpack.com/ might be what you want.:smiley:

HMMM -DO NOT NOT NOT WEIGH 276…!
Or you may be hitting the water to do a little more than sitting in a boat to

PADDLE ON!

-Frank in Miami

Sea Kayaker Magazine Latest Issue

– Last Updated: May-05-08 10:23 PM EST –

Has review of three systems.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=df1ZB9hT6Vw

Info in Sea Kayaker magazine
The latest issue of Sea Kayaker (June) has an article on “outdoor waste systems” – including the WAG BAG, Restop and “newspaper and a ziplock bag.” One factor to consider is the comfort level of people on the trip. If there are a lot of people with little experience handling “nature’s call” outdoors – the closer you can get to a “real potty” the better.

E-tool & a tarp…