Temagami Ontario Trip Report

Temagami Area, Ontario

Lady Evelyn-Smoothwater Provincial Park, Solace Provincial Park, North Yorston Conserve

First some personal info:

I have been tripping for five years. I am an experienced novice per Hap Wilson’s Temagami Guide skills rating; 45 yrs, a little soft around the middle, and weigh about 230 lbs. I’m a mailman and moderately active. My partner is 55 yrs, not an ounce of fat and weighs 145 lbs. He’s a very active dairy farmer and has also been tripping for 5 years. He is advanced in skills having been a whitewater kayaker in his younger days. Like many, we started along Hwy 60 in Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario, Canada; later moving to the more promitive northside and accessing at Brent on Cedar Lake. Algonquin is very nice, however, we found it to be a bit crowded at times. As fate would have it my wife gave me a book as a Christmas gift; Hap Wilson’s “The Cabin” and dreams of Temagami were set in motion…

While we did our trip in 7 days due to work constraints, 8 or 9 days would have allowed for much greater free time, exploration, and relaxation. As it was our trip was more like a week long workout, which I loved nonetheless!

Day 1: Travel, Montreal River, Lady Dufferin Lake to Smoothwater Lake: