Fishing from a Touring?

Hello,

For some background, I’m brand new to kayaking and I am looking for my first boat. Because I plan to do some fishing and exploring I don’t want to buy a kayak designed specifically for fishing. I also want to stick with a sit inside kayak. Most of the time I will be kayaking/fishing large lakes and rivers.

Can anybody give me your experiences with fishing in the touring type boats? I have been looking at the Tsunami series by wilderness system in the 12-14 foot range. I’m worried that the boats are not roomy enough to enjoy fishing. I am drawn to them because I think I will have more fun paddling a touring boat and I can also take the kayak on vacation and play in the ocean. If fishing can be fun and relaxed in this type of boat then I would rather go this route.

On the other-hand, since I will be fishing half the time I am wondering if a wider boat like a Pungo would better fit me? I can see where the fishing would be easier since you have more room, but the lack of performance is what turns me off. I feel like this boat won’t be as fun when I want to take the kayak out and see how far I can go.

Any advice and help you can give would be greatly appreciated. I have done a ton of research and talked to a half dozen people who kayak, but none of them fish.

Thanks,

Aaron

CD Whistler
I fish from this boat all the time. I got a yakclip to hold either my paddle to the cockpit when fishing or the pole when paddling.

I go light on tackle and carry everything in a back pack and small plastic tackle boxes. Less is more. Figure out what you actually need to enjoy your fishing.

I find having a rudder is very useful. It allows you to set up and drift fish using the wind and current to move you. I fish a lake that is about 3/4 of a mile long. I can work my way along a shore and quite often drift much of the the length without ever picking up my paddle to reposition.