fast fishing .......

-- Last Updated: Apr-03-12 4:34 PM EST --

...... so here we are just a cruisin down the creek with the current flow ... it's really moving fast !!

We're in the Jon boat and it has a 65 lb. on the bow ... nephew says here take this thing . That thing would be the hand held remote control . Sure , I'm an expert at running the Jon backwards down fast (really fast) flowing creeks , white water and all . Better than half the time at full throtle we are "still" going backwards ... grumble , grumble , this gets to be a PITA . Just two seconds of not countering the bow with the remote and she starts a sideways turn ... hey , I love my nephew so being the good Unc that I am , I guide him (backwards) down the fast creek setting him up for perfect cast presentations all along the way .

What's that you say nephew , I'm too far away from shore right now , oh ok ... oh , too close now huh , ok ... how's this , is this how you like it , great , glad to be of service !!

Every once in awhile I can't help but take a chance cast myself , and although my cast lands perfect - I have exactly the following two seconds to work it with both hands on the reel . It's hopeless , the bow swings off to one side immedieately and begins the spin out so I'm forced back onto the hand remote that's around my neck on a lynard .

Here I am with one hand operating the remote (in save the spin out mode) , and the other hand just holding the rod that used to have a perfect cast ... hey , dumb luck could happen , couldn't it ??

After about 45 mins. of this and watching the nephew pluck one 19"-20"er after the other off I'm silently getting somewhat irritated cause I want to catch one now , lol .

Oh I have a great idea ... just let the mother free float and burn down the creek like a bolt of lightning , it will find it's own way somehow .

Yeah , this works great , I can cast my spinner right up to the tree and limb jambed shoreline and take my chances .