More Speed....

As I’ve said before, I’m new to this SUP thing, but I’m loving it.

I’d like to get faster (haven’t raced yet, but planning on it), and was wondering if board and paddle selections place limits on speed similar to kayak and canoes.

I’m paddling a 12’1" Surftech Softtop with a Werner Carve paddle, and it feels like that even with better conditioning this combination won’t push much past 4 mph. Am I crazy, and just need to paddle more and work on stroke technique and conditioning?

Speaking of stroke technique, in marathon canoe racing the emphasis is on higher cadence to create speed. Does this apply to paddleboards too, and thus demand perhaps a smaller paddle for a higher cadence?

Speed question
I know little about paddle boards. Here are some thoughts, though.

To go faster than displacement speed, you will need to plane. You can easily plane by surfing down a wave, or attaching some sort of sail/kite, as proved by surfers and windsurfers. I believe it would be very difficult to plane under paddle alone - particularly to sustain a planing attitude during the recovery phase of the stroke, particularly when such a long paddle is used. There was a hydrofoil kayak that allowed this, but it was with an extreme high-angle racing stroke.

So, if SUP’s have to follow the same laws of physics, I’m thinking a 12’ board will indeed be a bit pokey, especially when compared to racing kayaks/canoes which have l/w ratios that surpass any SUP i’ve seen (though I haven’t seen many). Put another way - the higher your centre of gravity, the more stable your craft will need to be, which means it will need to be wider, which will mess with your l/w ration, unless you lengthen the craft, which will mess with your skin friction and maneuverability.

I’m not against paddleboards if people want to have a bit of fun. However, I see them as beach toys more than boats, and find the industry push to use them for tripping and racing and whitewater and such to be a bit silly.