Safety advice for a newish kayaker?

Hi Folks:

I’m a beginner kayaker and had my first wreck today. I’m trying to run a mental diagnostic of today’s events and figure out the gear mistakes that I made. I was hoping that a more veteran paddler would be willing to offer advice.

I was paddling around some rocks inshore and an incoming wave pushed me against a large submerged boulder. In doing so, the wave turned the cockpit toward the incoming water and flooded my kayak. The next wave that hit completely submerged my kayak. I bailed, made my way to shore and eventually re-entered my kayak there (which was thrown on to shore after I exited.)

In addition to assessing my maneuvering and judgment errors, I was trying to figure out whether kayak gear could have prevented the spill. My kayak is a Field and Stream Eagle Run 12" fishing-orientated kayak. It’s very stable but has a large cockpit.

Would flotation bags have prevented my kayak from filling with water so quickly? How about a spray skirt (the Eagle Run appears to be primarily targeted for use without one)? Any other ideas?

Thanks!

A sequence of things

– Last Updated: Sep-24-12 9:03 AM EST –

Waves and large cockpit very stable boats don't go together well. Two parts -
As you found, large cockpits and waves create a heck of a good opportunity for a flooded boat.
"Very stable" boats generally mean a high degree of primary stability and a wide boat. Sea kayaks, intended to handle waves, are much narrower and are designed to be wiggly on flat water but take the angle of the face of a wave in stride and return to upright after the waves passes underneath them. It is a very different stability profile than a flat water boat, which tends to be much less adept in handling that situation.