14.5 touring boat on a VW GTI (Golf)

FWIW, looks to be OK…
…but, I’ve zero experience with the “rack system” you’re using. I’ve got a Thule on my 2012 Golf,(poor man’s GTI), with foam cradles and used it with up to two boats at a time,(FG Tempest 165 & Dagger Alchemy, Alchemy with poly Zephyr, Zephyr & poly Avocet). Thule has a relatively narrow footprint between bars suggested of only 28". I stretched it out to 30" and used bow lines. No trouble over the windy Altimont Pass at flow of traffic speeds. If you want stern lines to, you can tie a web loop around each of the steel cargo net loops at the rear inside of the hatchback, flop them out, close the hatch and tie to them. I found some fairly stout screws for web loop mounting points under the hood for my bow lines. YMMV, I only use the stern lines for really long drives & don’t even use the bow lines for short trips with speeds 55 & lower in good weather.

I’ve since built a rack extention that lets the boats bulkheads rest on bars with the foam saddles & now only use bow lines for longer trips or windy cond. while stern lines will prolly be used even less. In theory I could fit three boats now :).

All the best, t.george

P.S. now is the time when the “safty police” will chime in with a plethora of horror stories and chastisements.

thanks folks!
Much appreciated. It sounds like it should work. What I had been doing when transporting my rec boat was tie it to the foam racks (surprisingly sturdy things) AND use an additional tie strap to loop through the plastic parts inside the cockpit and under the roof (closing doors over it). Driving up to 60 mph it bobbed a bit but never budged at all as far as I could tell.

The other concern I have is of how much it’s going to protrude front and back given the length of the boat and the fact that the car is really short. And… will I kill myself hoisting it around on my own? I would hate to have to become social now :slight_smile:

To avoid damage