Canoe pack experiences?

I’m looking for a canoe pack from Santa and was wondering about the collective experience in terms of quality, price, etc.

It’s mostly for solo tripping so most likely one of the smaller sizes is what I’d be looking at (60-80L). It needs to be quick to open/close quickly so I can split gear to trim my boat properly (one barrel in either the front or the back isn’t doing it for me…) I’m looking for people’s experiences with both Cooke Custom Sewing and Ostrom packs. Ostrom seems pricier, but is it warranted, and if so, how?

consider Granite Gear Quetico
I have no experience with Ostrum or CCS packs. I’m sure they are nice.

The Granite Gear Quetico has been a popular pack among some pretty experienced canoe campers. It holds 82 L packed to the gills.

Doesn’t answer your brand questions
But I don’t use barrels. I have a Duluth #3 standard pack and a Duluth #3 Cruiser Combo pack. I like the latter better because it has two outside pockets.

I put everything including my food (in an Ursack) in the Duluth pack. I have a waterproof XL Granite Gear Airvent pack liner inside the Duluth pack.

My second pack is a 20L waterproof, rolltop backpack in which I keep a change of clothes, medical and emergency gear, snacks and other miscellaneous stuff.

The Duluth pack goes behind me and the backpack goes in front – at varying distances for trim. My 9 lb. chair, when I carry it, can go in front or back depending on what trim I want, and my Chinese Boat Cart goes in front when I carry that.

I have several canoe packs

– Last Updated: Oct-22-12 5:35 PM EST –

and the go to ones are the Ostrom and the CCS. For quality of worksmanship.

The Ostrom pack fits me far better. It seems to keep a pack shape better . The CCS one wants to go to round.