Bear Burritos

Which one

– Last Updated: Oct-30-12 10:33 PM EST –

Can't say which one is best, but I have been using a Hennessy Explorer Deluxe for at least 10 years, and I wouldn't be without it. Far superior to a solo tent for comfort and site location, especially for primitive camp sites. No worries about finding a flat dry level spot, as virtually any kind of terrain with trees will suffice nicely.

I agree about getting a larger tarp. Though the standard tarp has not failed me even in windy rain storms when properly tied low, a larger tarp, when coupled with snake skins to store the hammock, allows plenty of working and dry living space underneath when you don't feel like spending all day inside in the rain.

I always thought that a hammock with someone sleeping inside looks much like a giant version of those wrapped candies with a soft chewy center.

I got a Rockhopper for a decent price
on ebay. It’s nice for the vented fly and the ability to use it on the ground as a tent when there are no trees. Kind of hard to get out from under the fly when on the ground but it’s nice to have the ability to use either way. It also packs down small enough to take along when flying.

Good Luck

Randy

I’ve got a Hennessey
and I love it. Much more comfortable than a tent. I also like the slit in the bottom. Easy in and out. Some day I do want to put a zipper in the mosquito netting, there have been nights when there were no bugs and I would have liked more of the wind. Like these:

http://www.2qzqhammockhanger.com/

I’ve got a Hennessy
Ultralight Backpacker and love it.Have got three other people into hammocking after they tried it. The Explorers work well and are well made. I did change to two different tarps…a Kelty 9 for good weather and the Hennessy Hex for a large amount of coverage. The Kelty 12 works great for winter camping. Check out www.hammockforums.net for all the data you’d ever want.

Exped
makes one …looks like a copy of the Clark

Best Wishes

Roy