Light weight kayak suggestions?

-- Last Updated: Nov-03-12 9:44 PM EST --

Hello everyone. From WI and wanted to introduce myself. I've been happily married for 6 yrs, a proud father of 3 boys, owner of a black lab and enjoy the outdoors.

I am new to the kayaking world and wanted to get some suggestions on a kayak. I'll be using it mostly to access hard to reach spots to fish and hunt and I will have gear along with me.

I realize that a light weight canoe such as the Wenonah Fusion 13 in kevlar would be ideal, so if I can't find anything in a kayak, I'll go that route.

However, I'm interested in a kayak. I am open to sit-ins and ROT. My requirements are as follows:

8 or less - 10' in lenght (want to toss it in the bed of my truck)
40lbs or less (give or take a couple lbs)
Max weight capacity - 280lbs minimum
Stable if this means anything. Ive got great balance.

****I should have mentioned, I am 5'6" and 200lbs. This craft should also be able to take a beating.

My trips usually go like this; craft gets loaded, then dragged to the water, sometimes over gravel and even railroad tracks to think wooded areas. I would use a hauler when possible, but this is worse case. Then I paddle to where I port. The craft (loaded with gear) gets draged and pushed through cattails, over fallen timber, in knee high muck. This muck is the the stuff that will take you a while to unlodge your feet once you plant.

Another scenario, floating small rivers/creeks to jump shoot ducks once ponds/lakes freeze over. I will ocassionally paddle through thin layers of ice and over shallow areas where the bottom will scrape over large rocks. I try to avoid these but it will happen (again worse case).

Also, I can do any style of paddling or seat position (this is secondary to the info above for me).****

I've done research ahead of time but I don't want to miss any other manufacturers. Thanks in advance.

Seems to me you are not

– Last Updated: Nov-03-12 5:52 PM EST –