Careers related to kayaks and paddling?

I wonder whether anyone has some creative ideas for careers related to kayaks and paddling. Of course there is the guide/instructor/retailer route, but just curious what else is out there.

For reference, my background is in environmental engineering, and I have spent quite a bit of time in the field, around 15 years, including time spent getting advanced degrees, etc. I am surely not the only person dreaming of merging my love for all things related to kayaking with making a living!

Any ideas?

Nursing

Sort of getting closer to your backgroun
Whitewater-park designer.

Scott Shipley, probably our finest
slalom kayaker, studied hydrodynamics and after his retirement, got at least some business designing ww courses and streamflow modifications.

Dam removal
The catch with anything you’re doing water related

– is the funding from the Federal Government.

The National Inventory of Dams (NID),

maintained by U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE),

shows that the number of dams in the U.S.A.

hovers around 85,000.

Clearinghouse for Dam Removal Information (CDRI)

http://library.ucr.edu/wrca/collections/cdri/

The days of antiquity with lumber/grist mills is gone;

yet the legacy of the crumbling dams remain everywhere.

Surf bum

Adventurer!
Great gig if you can get it.

Had the same idea when I retired

– Last Updated: Nov-05-12 3:58 PM EST –

Having an entrepreneurial background, I analyzed retail, manufacturing and services, finding the market size and trending insufficiently favorable. Too much risk, too little reward, and very few of them put you on the water very much. There are viable niches, but it's basically a labor-of-love situation, which wouldn't be all bad.

SUPs are Growing and Growing
While canoes and kayaks have plateaued.

kayak ranger…
Met some lucky sob’s in Alaska who were kayak rangers…

Start a paddling website . . .
. . . that provides message boards, reviews, articles, ads, classifieds, and more.