Our first tandem paddle day

-- Last Updated: Nov-17-12 8:19 PM EST --

Today, we took our new (used) 16' Wenonah out for s spin. While I have roughly 6 years experience in Sea Kayaks (East Coast - CT/RI), my only time in a canoe was when I was a kid goofing around. My g/f had never been in a canoe.

As I expected, it took me a while to get used to the much more unstable/tippy feel sitting what felt like so high in the water. When the water is warmer I look forward to experimenting and testing the secondary stability...then I'll relax more I am sure.

We sat vs kneeling and I 'mildly' provided some paddling technique tips to Pam and quickly decided she needs someone other than me to teach her the basics (I see why so many laugh about how tricky that can be)...ha.

Questions: I really felt like foot braces would've been VERY nice as I couldn't quite get settled with my feet just slipping around and knees braced against the Gunwale. What is a good way to provide for foot bracing (or do just need to kneel)?

Kneeling would be OK, but with size 13+ shoes size, my feet don't fit easily under the seat for proper bracing...they feel trapped.

Also really enjoyed landing (very well executed, I might add) and looking over to see another couple walking toward us from their canoe. They came right up, we introduced ourselves and chatted. It was fun seeing how others were interested to meet other paddlers. Little thing, but nice.

Looking forward to quickly getting up to speed. I promised I would resist just going right back to Kayaks as I like the idea of learning the canoe well.

Amswering questions

– Last Updated: Nov-17-12 7:41 PM EST –

You wanted to know what the experts think, but in the meantime, I'll tell you what I think.