Buying used canoe stored like this?

Hi All,

I’m new to the forum. I have been reading/researching the site (and canoes) for a while, but this is my first post. I’m a beginner to canoes and paddling, but not to fishing. I’m looking to purchase a used canoe for fishing and have been very diligent in doing my “homework” so I make a smart purchase.

My question is not on the specific canoe per se, but how the one I’m thinking of buying appears to have been stored. It is a 14’ Royalex material canoe with plastic gunwales. It has been stored from the rafters in a garage, upside down, on cargo straps. The two straps appear to be around the canoe at either end, about a foot or so from the ends (like 6 or 8 inches from the plastic “deck” end part). It doesn’t appear to be supported in the middle of the canoe at all. There is no board or support between the straps and canoe, as the canoe is just hanging, resting on the straps.

So my question: if a canoe is stored this way continually (possibly years) would this cause the canoe to bow in the middle or warp in any way? Or could any other “damage” have occured? Also, when I see the canoe in person how can I tell if it’s warped or not the right shape?

I ask this because all the info I’ve read on proper storage of a canoe is to store it upside down on saw horses or such. Also, I think I’ve seen canoes hanging from rafters, but aren’t they usually hanging right side up when done so?

Anyway, any helpful answers are much appreciated, (and the sooner the better as these answers will help in regards to whether I buy it or not!). Thanks!!

Suzanne

Cheap plastic vs, quality royalex
Dear Suzanne,

If the canoe in question was a quality canoe to begin with there is little likelyhood of the boat becoming “hogbacked” due to the the way it is being stored. When you think about it, how is the way it is currently being stored different than storing it upside down on sawhorses? It isn’t.