Fiberglass Kayak - Winter Storage

I just purchased a new fiberglass yak and the only place I can store it thats big enough is my non-insulated garage. I live in Ontario where the winter temps can get very cold (-25C)(-13F). Are there any concerns with storing a fiberglass kayak in extreme cold?

Hope not
That’s how I’ve been storing mine for the past 5 years. No ill effects yet. I do 303 the crap out of the hatch covers before I put it up for the winter. That’s where my plastic boats spend the off-season as well. Likewise, no ill effects yet.

I don’t think so

– Last Updated: Nov-27-12 11:13 AM EST –

Though if you have Valley hatch covers the rubber may get brittle in the cold. We bring those in to a semi heated garage. The act of bringing that stuff in also reminds us that they need 303 treatment. We always used to forget that, which might have added as much cracking as the cold did in the hatch covers. Cold is pretty drying.

The old kayak (Wilderness Systems Shenai) was stored outside for 12 years, sometimes under 8 feet of snow. Then it finally got inside to an unheated garage.

Normal winters used to bottom out here at minus 40F. In the last three years its been bottoming out at minus 25F.

So the short answer is I would expect no problem.

Marinas here have unheated storage rack buildings..open except a roof. They are huge and some thousand boats are stored that way..and another thousand boats on the forty acres of field. The boats are all fiberglass.

Was OK for my glass boats
Stored in an uninsulated, unheated shed in Colorado. Not as cold as -25 F except for rare occasions, but below zero wasn’t all that uncommon. Mostly single digits and teens at night. No problems from the cold.