Fiberglass paddle repair

-- Last Updated: Nov-27-12 10:21 PM EST --

I've been fraying the ends of my Werner Player on some rough concrete and rebar in local boney water. It's time to smooth out the ends and clean up the edges. What do I use to take off the rough fibers without losing too much surface or getting too crazy? Is there a product out there to coat, cover, or fill the irregular edge? I'm a woodworker, not a fiberglass guy, so translate for me.

Wetsand w/ 320, done.

Done?
Besides getting away from those craggy paddling locations, is there a way to further protect the edges? A sealer or some kind or a reinforcement layer that could be applied without looking like junk? Would some kind of resin or epoxy do the trick? I’ve never used either.

Done
Unless you’ve taken big chunks out.

Light sanding and
brush on a thin coat of epoxy.

or
clear acrylic for better uv protection

and
some folks apply a layer of epoxy with graphite filler right on the edge for better bashing resistance

If black is not your color, silica filler will be quite effective

West G-flex is thicker, tougher than
regular West 105/205 or similar epoxies. G-flex mixes 1:1 and proportions can be a teensy bit less than precise.

The thicker quality means that you can spread it along the edge and it will form a more robust bead. If it drools the wrong way, just sand off what you don’t want.

Try not to bash and scrape against rocks…

o.k. if you want to go nuts … go here
www.surfskiracing.com

Scroll down to contributors on lower right and click on Patrick

Done it this way 2x already - works well