Canoe paddles

Get a straight and a bent
Practice a lot with each one from both the sitting and kneeling positions. Don’t worry about what’s theoretically optimal unless you are a racer. Find out what gives you comfortable paddling pleasure.

I always take a straight and a bent on day trips or wilderness trips. The bent is for the 90+% of the time I’m just doing forward strokes on flatwater. I’ve been using bents while kneeling for 30 years, and that’s what I prefer.

I use straight paddles when in rapids, when I want turning control on twisty streams, when I want leverage in lake wind and waves, and when I want to push-pole off the bottom.

What is really sub-optimal is swinging heavy weight tens of thousands of times in a day’s paddle. Therefore, I like carbon paddles. However, if you can afford only one carbon, I would spend that on a ZRE Power Surge bent shaft - the paddle you will be swinging the most on all those forward strokes.

A decent straight wood paddle with chip resistant edges, though heavier, can serve the straight paddle purposes I mentioned above just fine. Several good wooden paddle companies have been mentioned.

used paddles
Zav paddles are highly praised by nearly everyone who makes the commitment to buy one (I know a couple of folks who don’t care for them) so you probably couldn’t go wrong with a ZRE if it is in your budget.

On the other hand, since you have not canoed for a while and really don’t know your preference at this point, it probably makes sense to take Terry’s advice and buy some used paddles when you find them at a good price.